Karol Malec

Head of Refereeing in Norway
Level: IWRF Certified

Erik Baret

Assistant head of refereeing in Norway
Telephone: +47 916 89 746

Level C:

Lukas Galdikas

Level D:

Egzon Kuka
Ina-Camilla Lysnes
Alena Zubrzycka
Ahmed Khoder
Rolf Farmen

Level D+

Board Member:


Marita Evjen

Maria Suchanek
Lene Branstad
Agnieszka Cnota

How to become a referee.

A person who is willing to learn the game, learn the rules and invest time can learn to become a wheelchair rugby referee.

Referee Clinic

These clinics are run by experienced and knowledgable referees. Clinics are usual run in collaboration with a playing tournament, this is so the referees can learn and then put it straight into practice with real live games. Here the can be observed and be given feedback immediately to help improve. There are three types of clinics:

Basic Clinic: This is for new referees who have become familiar with the rules they may have refereed a few matches, but only under training situations. The clinic leader will teach/explain details and refereeing techniques along with the rules.

Intermediate Clinic: Referees who have around 1-2 years of experience can attend this clinic. The focus is affirming the refereeing skills and learning how to interpret the rules for each individual situation. The main way this clinic is assessed is through practical observation, however, students can expect a written exam here to test the theoretical knowledge.

Advanced Clinic: Students in this clinic are referees who have either international referees or this who must partake and be tested in order to maintain their international license. The focus is really on the detail in match refereeing and ensuring that there is a consistent interpretation of the rules.

Refereeing Qualifications

National Referee: He/She has completed a basic and/or intermediate refereeing clinics. these judges are qualified as referees in national and club competitions, but only inside their country.

National referees can be broken down into four more levels:

Level A

this is the highest level of national refereeing. Referees here must demonstrate good knowledge of the rules and interpretations. They must be able to referee each game consistently no matter the level of the match. Referees must be able to referee in “Champions League” games with referees who are a similar or at the IWRF level.

A referee at this level is able to lead developments/coaching of other referees. Referees at this level will be considered for tournaments and matches at all levels within Norway, and will be considered for tournaments and matches outside, inside and including the Champions League. After attaining LevelA, a referee may apply to be assessed for IWRF Zone Certification.


  • Referee as a main referee with level B, C or D second referee.
  • Show a high level of knowledge about rules and interpretations.
  • Referee constantly with a weaker partner.
  • Level B achieved.

Level B

Referees at this level are capable of refereeing games as a first referee with level C/D referees. To achieve this level, the referee must demonstrate a high level knowledge about rukes and interpretations, and must be able to referee games constantly no matter who is assisting them. Referees at this level will be considered for professional matches within Norway as well as possible assignments at tournaments outside of Norway.


  • Able to referee as a first referee with a level C or D second referee.
  • Show a high level of knowledge about rules and interpretations.
  • Referee with a weaker partner.
  • Level C achieved.

Level C

Referees at this level are those who have shown good results on the field with a superior level referee. Level Referees have a good knowledge of rules and interpretations. Judge consistently with a weaker partner and referee satisfactorily as a first or second referee.


  • Good knowledge of rules, interpretations and techniques.
  • Referee consistently with a weaker partner.
  • Have achieved level D.

Level D

Referees at this level have completed the referees clinic, and participated course practice or refereed an official match. Suitable for for new referees in wheelchair rugby. Referees at this level are only authorised to referee matches in national series as a second referee.


  • Completed the refereeing course with practice, or a refereeing course without practice but officiated a match.

Level D+

Referees at this level have completed the referees clinic without practice.


  • Completing a refereeing course without practice.

IWRF Certification

IZ (Zone): Has completed an advanced clinic. Referees can oversee matches at international tournaments within their zone, eg at the European Championships/Europa Cup.

IW (World): Referees with this certification will be experienced internationally and can judge matches at the World Cup and Para-Olympics Games.

Below you will find extra information on the European level system for referees.

If you want to become a Wheelchair rugby referee, you can contact Erik Baret or the Head of Refereeing.

Close Button